For the Sake of a Bigger Purpose

image“Jesus, undeterred, went right ahead and gave His charge: ‘God authorized and commanded me to commission you: Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by babtism in the threefold name Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you. I’ll be with you as you do this, DAY AFTER DAY, right up to the end of this age.'” Matthew 28:18-20 (The Message)

There are times in ballet rehearsals, when I just don’t feel like putting in the work. Have you been there? Ever so often, the repetition of dancing the same thing over and over again causes us to lose our passion and our perspective. The day in and the day out of rehearsing can sometimes deplete our excitement for dancing and even cause serious forgetfullness of why we chose this profession. 🙂 It is work. And it takes stepping out of our comfort zone. It takes being really brave. I remember my heart beating so powerfully inside my chest at times during rehearsal when my director would ask me to demonstrate a certain section of the ballet ALL. BY. MYSELF while the whole rest of the company stood there and watched. I would shoot arrow prayers to God….very elegant ones like, “Help me, Lord!” or “Lord, please help me REMEMER the steps!” Usually those situations turned out okay, but some days we show up, and we don’t want to have to deal with that stuff or the intensity of it all. But we keep coming back…..

why….

for the sake of a bigger purpose…..the performance….because we know that if we keep showing up, doing our job, and giving our all even when it’s uncomfortable…it will pay off in the form of a beautiful performance…..in beautiful art that might just move a grandmother in the audience who needed a lift that day, inspire a little girl to become a ballerina when she grows up, touch a person’s heart that just needed to see beauty that day….because beauty points to a bigger, deeper purpose – God Himself. Beauty points to the Creator.

I love this quote from author Joanna Weaver:

“We always have a choice: either we can trust the Spirit’s leading, or we can insist on going our own way. Only one choice leads to life.”

I also love this quote by author Emily P. Freeman: http://www.chattingatthesky.com:

“When people start things, they don’t do it because they are necessarily ready. They don’t do it because they have all the answers to every question or because they have some guarentees of success from an invisible authority. They haven’t figured out the secret of doing stuff. They have simply decided to stop letting the fear that this might not work control their lives.”

So….for the sake of God’s purposes, today, let’s choose to walk in the Spirit and to stop letting fear of what others might think control our lives.

May this song from Francesca Battistelli encourage your heart today:

“But when I fix my eyes on all that You are
Then every doubt I feel
Deep in my heart
Grows strangely dim
All my worries fade
And fall to the ground
Cause when I seek Your face
and don’t look around
any place I’m in
grows strangely dim…”

http://www.francescamusic.com

Today I leave with with this prayer from Stormie O’Martian’s Power of a Praying Woman http://www.stormieomartian.com

“Lord, help me to serve You the way you want me too… I don’t want to get so wrapped up in my own life that I don’t see the opportunity for ministering Your life to others. Show me what you want me to do and enable me to do it. Give me all I need to minister life, hope, help, and healing to others.”

Have a blessed week of Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

